Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: History, Montreal Canadiens Past Winners

The Canadiens Head Coach knows this trophy well from his playing career.
NHL Awards Show
NHL Awards Show / Bruce Bennett/GettyImages
2 of 4

1946 - Toe Blake

Anaheim Ducks v Montreal Canadiens
Montreal Canadiens logo / Minas Panagiotakis/GettyImages

It's fitting that Toe Blake was the first Montreal Canadien to win the award. He played in the NHL from 1935 to 1948 with the Montreal Maroons and Montreal Canadiens. He led the NHL in scoring in 1939, winning the Hart Trophy. He won two Stanley Cups with the Canadiens in 1944 and 1946, the same year he won the Lady Byng. Blake is one of the greatest players in NHL history. Blake's greatest triumphs with the Habs came as a coach, winning eight Stanley Cups and leading one of the best teams in history.

Blake won the award for the 1945-46 season when he had just two penalty minutes, the lowest total of his career. He was also effective, recording 50 points in 50 games.