Jack Adams Award: History, Montreal Canadiens Past Winners

The Montreal Canadiens have a surprising history with the award given to the best coaching performance.
Canadiens coaching legend Scotty Bowman
Canadiens coaching legend Scotty Bowman / Richard T Gagnon/GettyImages
2 of 3

Scotty Bowman, 1976-77

Scotty Bowman Holding the Stanley Cup
Scotty Bowman Holding the Stanley Cup / Ralf-Finn Hestoft/GettyImages

Scotty Bowman became the first Canadiens coach to win the Jack Adams Award. The Canadiens were a dynasty during Bowman's run, but they had no better year than 1976-77.

The Canadiens had 60 wins and 12 ties in the 80-game schedule. They went on to win the Prince of Wales Trophy and the Stanley Cup.

Bowman began coaching with the Peterborough Petes, the Canadiens' junior farm team. Bowman went to coach the expansion St. Louis Blues for a short time but eventually returned to the Canadiens in 1971.

Bowman didn't experience immediate success but won four consecutive Stanley Cups from 1976 to 1979. He coached players like Guy Lafleur, Larry Robinson, and Ken Dryden. He eventually stepped down after the 1978-79 season, leaving as second all-time in Canadiens history in wins and winning percentage behind Toe Blake.