Conn Smythe Trophy: History, Montreal Canadiens Past Winners

The winningest franchise in NHL history has a long and storied history with the Conn Smythe Trophy.
Patrick Roy
Patrick Roy / Tim DeFrisco/GettyImages
3 of 5

1971 - Ken Dryden

Wayne Cashman, Ken Dryden
Montreal Canadiens v Boston Bruins / Focus On Sport/GettyImages

Dryden made his NHL debut on March 14th, 1971, against the Pittsburgh Penguins. He played only six regular-season games but recorded a 1.65 goals-against average. The performance gave him the starting goaltender job for the playoffs, leading to his first of six Stanley Cups. Dryden won the Conn Smythe and Stanley Cup before winning the Calder Trophy in 1972 as Rookie of the Year. He is the only player to win the Conn Smyth before the Calder Trophy and the only goaltender to win the Conn Smythe and Stanley Cup before losing a regular-season game.

1973 - Yvan Cournoyer

Yvan Cournoyer, Jim Neilson, Ed Giacomin
Montreal Canadiens v New York Rangers / Melchior DiGiacomo/GettyImages

Cournoyer's career took off in 1968 after the departure of Toe Blake as head coach. Claude Ruel brought out the best in Cournoyer, leading to his first 40-goal season. The 1972-73 season was a career-best for Cournoyer, tallying 47 goals during the regular season. He then had 15 goals and 10 assists in 17 games during the playoffs, earning his first and only Conn Smythe Trophy.