Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: History, Montreal Canadiens Past Winners

The Montreal Canadiens hold an important piece of the Bill Masterton Trophy.
Montreal Canadien Saku Koivu
Montreal Canadien Saku Koivu / Richard Wolowicz/GettyImages
7 of 7

Carey Price: 2021-22

Carey Price
Montreal Canadien Carey Price / Minas Panagiotakis/GettyImages

Carey Price almost heroically carried his team to the Stanley Cup in the COVID season of 2020-21. He led the Canadiens past the Maple Leafs and Jets in the All-Canadian Division, then eliminated the Golden Knights in the conference finals. They fell to the Lightning in the Stanley Cup Final.

Price publicly disclosed substance abuse issues after recovering from offseason knee surgery. He returned to play five games at the end of the season, which would be the final games of his NHL career.