Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: History, Montreal Canadiens Past Winners

The Montreal Canadiens hold an important piece of the Bill Masterton Trophy.
Montreal Canadien Saku Koivu
Montreal Canadien Saku Koivu / Richard Wolowicz/GettyImages
2 of 7

Claude Provost: 1967-68

Provost was given the inaugural Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy. He had a 15-year career, and the league said he "embodied the definition of perseverance and dedication to hockey.

Provost played with the Canadiens until the end of the 1969-70 season, winning nine Stanley Cups. Provost was a defensive minded forward for the Habs, but scored 15+ goals in nine of his 15 seasons.