Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: History, Montreal Canadiens Past Winners

The Montreal Canadiens hold an important piece of the Bill Masterton Trophy.
Montreal Canadien Saku Koivu
Montreal Canadien Saku Koivu / Richard Wolowicz/GettyImages
1 of 7

The Bill Masterson Trophy winner will be announced on Wednesday, May 15th, before the puck drop of Game 5 of the Colorado Avalanche vs. Dallas Stars. The Bill Masterson Trophy is awarded annually to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

Bill Masterson is the only player in NHL history to die as a direct result of injuries suffered during a game. He was a former player with the Montreal Canadiens but left the NHL to work as an engineer. He returned to the NHL when the Minnesota North Stars made him their first contracted player.

The Montreal Canadiens have a long list of players deserving the Bill Masterson Trophy. They had the first-ever Masterson Trophy winner when Claude Provost took home the honor in 1968. Six Montreal Canadiens won the award, with Carey Price being the last in 2022.

Let's look at the Canadiens' Bill Masterson Trophy winners.