2024 NHL Awards Release Schedule: Are any Montreal Canadiens nominated for year-end awards?

The Montreal Canadiens didn't have a great year from a team perspective. Did any of their players get nominated for an individual award?
Carey Price 2015 Awards
Carey Price 2015 Awards / Bruce Bennett/GettyImages

The last Montreal Canadiens player to win an individual award was Carey Price. Price won the Bill Masterson Trophy, given “To the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.” Of course, Price was also the last Canadiens player to win an award before that, as he was the star of the show at the 2015 NHL Awards. Price won the Vezina, Ted Lindsay, and Vezina Trophy that season.

Only one Canadiens player is eligible to win an award this season, as Nick Suzuki is a nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Award. Each team gets a nominee for this award, acknowledging a player's work in the community. 

The NHL Awards has a different format now than their Award Shows of the past, as they'll announce various awards on nights during the 2024 postseason. The process culminates with a special night on June 27th, where the league's most prestigious awards get handed out during draft week. 

Tuesday, May 14th - Mark Messier Leadership Award

"To the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season and who plays a leading role in his community growing the game of hockey."

Wednesday, May 15th - Bill Masterson Trophy

“To the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.” The finalists are Frederik Andersen, Connor Ingram, and Oliver Kylington.

Saturday, May 18th - Frank J. Selke Trophy

“To the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.” The finalists are Jordan Staal, Aleksander Barkov, and Auston Matthews.

Wednesday, May 22nd - Jack Adams Award

“To the coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.”The finalists are Rick Tocchet, Andrew Brunette, and Rick Bowness.

Tuesday, May 28th - King Clancy Memorial Trophy

“To the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.” The nominee for the Montreal Canadiens is Nick Suzuki.

Thursday, May 30th - Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

“To the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”The finalists are Auston Matthews, Jaccob Slavin, and Elias Pettersson.

Thursday, June 27th - The Big Five Trophies

Calder Memorial Trophy

“To the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition.”The finalists are Connor Bedard, Brock Faber, and Luke Hughes.

James Norris Memorial Trophy

“To the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.” The finalists are Roman Josi, Cale Makar, and Quinn Hughes.

Vezina Trophy

“To the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position.” The finalists are Thatcher Demko, Sergei Bobrovsky, and Connor Hellebuyck.

Ted Lindsay Award

“To the most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.” The finalists are Nikita Kucherov, Nathan MacKinnon, and Auston Matthews.

Hart Memorial Trophy

“To the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.” The finalists are Nikita Kucherov, Nathan MacKinnon, and Connor McDavid.