Jun 15, 2013; Chicago, IL, USA; Montreal Canadiens defenseman P.K. Subban poses with the Norris Trophy during the first intermission of game two of the 2013 Stanley Cup Final between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Boston Bruins at the United Center. Mandatory Credit: Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

Montreal Canadiens' P.K. Subban Wins Norris Trophy

One of the NHL’s worst kept secrets was finally made official as P.K. Subban was announced as the winner of the Norris Trophy as the best defenseman in the NHL. The honor was handed out just before game 2 of the Stanley Cup Finals between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Boston Bruins.

Subban was quick to deflect praise in the direction of his teammates who credits for helping him become a Norris Trophy winner.

“It is a great day for me and I am just happy to represent the organization” Subban said, while adding, “This really is a team award.”

He then signed off from his CBC interview by thanking the fans of the Montreal Canadiens and in his best French, mentioned how excited he was about next season.

Subban proved to be worth every penny of the contract he sought at the beginning of the season, sitting out the first six games before settling on a two year deal worth far less than he wanted.

P.K. brought his offensive game to a new level this season, his 11 goals the second most in the NHL among blueliners, and his 38 points tying him with Kris Letang as the highest scoring defensemen in the league.

Subban narrowly ousted Ryan Suter of the Minnesota Wild for the distinction, with 1266 points in the voting compared to Suter’s 1230. Subban led with 66 first place ballots to Suter’s 65.

P.K. becomes the sixth Canadien in their storied history to win the Norris Trophy, and the first since Chris Chelios took home the hardware in 1989. The only other Hab defenders to have their name engraved on the Norris are Doug Harvey who won six, Tom Johnson, Jacques Laperriere and Larry Robinson who won a pair.

It is a major accomplishment in the young career of Subban and much bigger news than it once was in the city of Montreal. The Canadiens used to claim several of the NHL’s biggest individual awards each season, but this is the first major award to be won by a Canadien since Jose Theodore took home the Vezina and Hart Trophy’s in 2002.

Brendan Gallagher, who was a finalist for the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s best rookie, lost out to Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers.

Next Canadiens Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov7:00Calgary FlamesBuy Tickets

Tags: Montreal Canadiens NHL Awards Norris Trophy P.K. Subban

comments powered by Disqus